~~~A Day Trip to the Karlštejn Castle~~~


Karlštejn Castle Czech Republic. Founded 1348:)

Karlštejn Castle Czech Republic. Founded 1348:)

What is Karlštejn Castle?

Is a famous Gothic structure Castle founded in 1348 in Czech Republic. Built by Czech King and Roman Emperor Charles IV. A place to secure the Royal treasures, especially Charles’s collection of holy relics and the coronation jewels of the Roman Empire. OLD? Yeah it’s decades and decades years old, and that’s how tourist get interested to visit the town of Karlštejn Castle.

Gothic design founded in 1348.

Gothic design founded in 1348.

How to get there from Prague?

Karlštejn Castle is in Czech Republic. 20km west of Prague, or about 40minutes train ride from the Center of Prague. From Prague you can ride the commuter train by going to the “RED LINE.” Prague is divided into 3 lines metro station. “Green Line, Yellow Line, and the Red Line” so going to Karlštejn all you have to do is ride the Red line and stop at “Hlavní nádraží” At the same station, you can purchase your ticket going to Karlštejn castle just follow the sign! Private vehicles going to the castle is not allowed, so don’t shocked when you get to Karlštejn and you heard some Taxi driver giving you a ride to the castle. If you’re not willing to walk so get a taxi, but I recommend you to just walk and have fun the view! To exit the Karlštejn station, go to right, turn to the first block then turn left, and you’ll see the bridge, straight and cross, and you’ll see the Castle. About 5minutes walk!

Follow the direction please!

Follow the direction please!

A Reflection view from the Bridge.:)

A Reflection view from the left side of the Bridge.:)

Then you'll see this view:)

Then you’ll see this view:)

Whats in Karlštejn?

Well, if you’d like Gothic and oldest castle in Europe I think this might be your meal. Aside for the castle the little town of the area is quite interesting, a good scape to get a fresh air, tons of shops, like CRYSTAL Bohemian Glasses with different design handcrafts, tons of Antiques, and Peaceful Scenery. I think the prices of the crystal glasses in Karlštejn is a good bargain than in Prague, and if you know how to BARGAIN? Thats a big plus.:)

Best season to go?

Summer is the best way to go! Everything are open from Hotels, Restaurants, shops, and more activities from weekdays to weekends. Best time is morning so you can enjoy the day and still have enough time to hop on the train back to Prague that afternoon. During Winter the best days to visit is weekends as winter is the low season of the year. The Castle is closed, Taxi driver won’t tell you that, as you know they need business! So I recon to walk, really. Most shops are CLOSED too during weekdays of winter.

Only 4 shops are open when we get there during the weekdays.

We only saw 5 shops open during our visit there. 2shops are owned by only 1 owner, were the Sales lady watching back to back to her shops, she sells Souvenirs and Bohemian Crystals. The 1 shop sells Garnet Jewelry, the other one also is Crystals shop, and the last 5shops is Antiques stuffs. Plus one restaurant that only offers beverage.

It's kind of DEAD during weekdays!

It’s kind of DEAD during weekdays!

ccc

This Museum is CLOSED too.:)

Why I say this stuff?

Because my husband and I visited the town just recently last month to buy some neat Crystal Bohemian Glasses. It was Friday morning, Taxi driver bugging us for a ride said it’s quite far! He din’t mentioned that the Castle is closed and most of the shops are closed too! Good thing my husband and I preferred to walk as the fresh air feels good that morning. And we’re surprised walking is not a big deal, opposite to what the Taxi driver said. But I’m kind of disappointed because my real reason to be in Karlštejn is to purchase the crystal but only 5 shops are open, the rest are closed. I purchased few bohemian crystal like the Vases, and a pitcher at a very good bargain VERSUS Prague price.:)

All

All Restaurants are closed except one that only offered beverage. I have no problem with it but the ambiance of the restaurant is not acceptable for me. It smells bad, the cigarets smell is overwhelming, the hot temperature inside is pushing me better to stay outside. We pushed to get in the restaurant to used the bathroom, so we have to order at least a drink. Good thing the bathroom is clean thats the only complement I can give to those restaurant. This is NOT the Photo restaurant I’m talking that has a poor ambiance OK! This is just showing you that this restaurant is closed too.

My Husband and I ordered 2 mug of Capucieno

My Husband and I ordered 2 mugs of this Cappuccino Coffee. I dont like the taste at all, so I didn’t bother to drink them after the 1 sip! Sorry about that.:)  My husband drinks all his Cappuccino, so I thought he like it. But when I asked him his response is just to respect the waiter. I said WOW your kind of nice! I didn’t drink mine so he will realize my reason of not drinking it because the taste is horrible……

Closed!

Small Police Station Closed!

What else we did?

Not much, but just keep walking romantically, stopping each window glass of the closed shop peeking what they have inside, snapping photos and just have fun.:)

 bb

🙂

sd

Ohh “DUM HODIN means HOUSE OF CLOCK”

Bye Castle, we're heading back to Prague now. I hope to visit you inside next time hopefully.:)

Bye Castle, we’re heading back to Prague now. I hope to visit you inside next time hopefully.:)

I wish it was loaded with snow to complete my day that time, and I'll surely take-off my coat and have picture with me lying on the white snow lol.:)

I wish it was loaded with snow to complete my day that time, and I’ll surely take-off my winter coat to have picture with me lying on the white snow lol.:)

Time to go hop on the train back to Prague:)

We didn’t stay that long in Karlštejn so we opted to hop on the train by 1pm. As we’re content and accomplished our goal in the town.

Karlštejn station.:)

Karlštejn station.:)

Karlštejn Station. This 2 folks are Americans.:)

Karlštejn Station.:)

Yeahhhp:)

Yeahhhp:)

Have a wonderful visit everyone Thanks,

Yen-Yen

8 thoughts on “~~~A Day Trip to the Karlštejn Castle~~~

  1. i love your adventures yen, i hope you’ll post more about it the next time you go there when it’s open.. the crystal glasses must be wonderful..

    • Hello Elizz,
      How are you? I was in Saudi Arabia before here in Prague. And Crystal Bohemian is very expensive in the Kingdom, so when I get here 3yrs ago I started my collections. It was nice and elegant looking specially if you have a visitors dinner at home, they get compliments than my food hehehe.:)

      Thanks for stopping my dear Elizz,
      Yen-Yen

      • i’m good yen, thanks! i’m sure they look so elegant.. and maybe here in the philippines it is very expensive.. well, enjoy your travels and adventures and will be dropping by again in your blog.. take care 🙂

  2. Hi Yen Yen, this is the best Holiday word picture I have heard …..

    Not much, but just keep walking romantically, stopping each window glass of the closed shop peeking what they have inside, snapping photos and just have fun.:)

    Loved the Photography too, you are very gifted Yen, Yen.

    Christian Love – Anne

    • My dear friend Anne,
      Hows your summer there in Australia now? I hope you’ll feeling a lot better now.:) I think in this stage all we have to do is to appreciate our existence, have fun every aspects of life that God provided us, as we don’t know when will be our last.:)

      Have a Blessed one my friend Anne,
      Yen-Yen

  3. Pingback: Web Camera Praha Hlavni Nadrazi (Main Train Station) – Kouty – Hlavní Mesto Praha – Libeň | Live view of the world now

Leave a Reply

